SYDNEY, N.S.-  The Cape Breton Regional Chamber of Commerce (Chamber), in partnership with Cape Breton University (CBU) and the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP), has released the names of the 2019 inductees into the Cape Breton Business & Philanthropy Hall of Fame, presented by the Sydney Credit Union. The induction of the 2019 Hall of Fame members will take place at a gala event on Wednesday, May 22 at the Membertou Trade and Convention Centre. Reception begins at 6 pm with dinner to follow at 7 pm.   

This year the Chamber will induct four members to the Business Hall of Fame and two members into the Philanthropy Hall of Fame. Individuals are selected from a list of nominees who have been submitted through a call for nominations in early 2019. Those chosen for the business hall of fame are Cape Breton’s most esteemed business leaders and philanthropists who have exemplified business excellence, entrepreneurial spirit, and community leadership through their life long careers and personal lives. These individuals have also often been very committed to our community with their time, energy and mentorship, which in turn have broadened opportunities for others and provided inspiration for other entrepreneurs and passionate community-minded individuals.

The 2019 laureates for the Business Hall of Fame are Mr. Bill Mozvik, Founder and Owner, R & A Paper, as well as owner of Smitty’s Family Restaurant and Habaneros; Ms. Sheila Gillis, Founding Partner, MGM & Associates; and Mr. and Mrs. Jim and Lori Kennedy, Founders and Owners, Louisbourg Seafoods Group of Companies. Mr. John Eyking and his late wife Jeanne Eyking will be inducted into the Philanthropy Hall of Fame.

“I am thrilled we are celebrating these outstanding members of our community who have each had a significant and positive impact here in Cape Breton and far beyond. They have inspired and influenced countless lives and have each paved the way to build a prosperous Cape Breton Island,” says Hall of Fame Committee Chair, Darren Chiasson. “Our inductees are role models for all of us, especially those attending university within our community. A portion of the proceeds generated from the Business & Philanthropy Hall of Fame Gala creates student awards to help them reach their goals and allow them to thrive and prosper here in our local business community.”  

Proceeds from the gala raises money for scholarships and bursaries in honour of the inductees, and will be awarded to students continuing their program of studies in the Shannon School of Business at Cape Breton University.

“It is a privilege and a great honour for the Chamber to welcome six more outstanding leaders from our Island into the Cape Breton Business and Philanthropy Hall of Fame. Recognizing both business and philanthropy excellence is a wonderful chance to pause and acknowledge the many years of each, for their commitment and generosity to our community. It is always a very inspiring evening that reminds us of what is possible! There is so much opportunity where we live and these inductees demonstrate that so perfectly. We are looking forward to celebrating each of their accomplishments at the gala on May 22,” says CEO of the Chamber, Kathleen Yurchesyn.   

The Cape Breton Business Hall of Fame was established in 2002 to honour individuals from the Cape Breton business community who paved the road for future generations in Cape Breton through business achievement and community involvement. In 2016 the mandate of the gala Hall of Fame was broadened to recognize prominent representatives in the philanthropy community.

Tickets are available now through the Chamber and can be purchased online or directly through the Chamber office located at 275 Charlotte Street. For more information, please contact the Cape Breton Regional Chamber of Commerce at 564-6453 or [email protected] for tickets.

No Comments

Post A Comment